By Luke Andrews

 

Stage one is over.

Madagascar has been my home for the last two weeks, and I am sad to leave. The country has been fantastic. Friendly people and the astonishingly diverse array of wildlife have really made my stay here. Yesterday at 3pm, I departed Antananarivo for Lusaka, Zambia.

The adventure in Madagascar has been unforgettable. A week in the rainforest, and a week on the beach made this a great (and sometimes very comfortable) adventure.

The best part was undoubtedly seeing my first lemur. An animal that I haven’t come across before outside of zoos like Drusillas, UK. It was great to see them foraging in their natural habitat. The eerie call of the Indri is a sound I will never forget.

The second part on the beach was the perfect conclusion. It was relaxing, and gave me a different experience of the country’s fauna. I developed a healthy interest in crabs and assisted a student with her lemur research for her dissertation. It is with great sadness that I say goodbye to this island.

The next part, in Zambia, is bound to be even better. I am travelling alone for the first time in my life.

I took this decision simply because I wanted to try it.

Although moving overland in groups is good fun, I wanted to give myself the freedom of changing plans at the last minute, the openness to where the journey takes me and the chance to meet new people. I also wanted to gain some really exciting life experiences that will build me into a more able, dynamic and engaging individual.

The Zambia adventure will see me working with elephants at Victoria Falls, one of the natural wonders of the world. I will be tracking and monitoring the animals, and making notes on their behaviour. I will also be in a camp full of wildlife researchers and NGO workers, giving me a unique chance to gain a totally new perspective on life.

From there I will go on to South Luangwa, the best national park in Zambia and one of the best in Africa. Then, I will cross the border into Malawi and a whole new country.

I’m due to touch down at 9pm, after a brief stop over in South Africa (how cool is that?!).

I’ll be rumbling out of the airport with my rucksack and onwards, to a ‘brave new world’.

 

Photo credit: Luke Andrews

